Common Decency

During a recent filmed interview, British reporter Emily Maitlis asked Representative Greene a few questions concerning various topics: Would she be a running mate for Donald Trump; Why did she think so many supporters of Trump were conspiracy theorists, and finally Maitlis asked  Greene about her theory that California forest fires could have been caused by space lasers by asking, “What about Jewish space lasers? Tell us about Jewish space lasers.” Greene answered, “No, why don’t you go talk about Jewish space lasers and really, why don’t you f*ck off? How about that?” Greene then walked away. “Thank you very much,” said Maitlis.

Recently while talking with a friend who had been reading the news before my phone call, I mentioned the above episode and asked had he seen or read about Greene’s vulgarity. “No,” was the answer, “But, we don’t know all the facts,” was his response when I commented on the language of Greene. I mentioned that he could watch the exchange on the Internet, but he again reminded me that we don’t always get the entire story behind a story. I changed the subject.

Forgetting for a moment that Representative Greene is an elected member of the United States Congress, I wondered what “facts” could possibly justify such language by one person to another. Putting aside that Greene is a member of our law-making body, what “facts” in her exchange with Maitlis could support such a response to a question about her own words.

When I read various news sources, I always remember the adage, “There are three sides to every story: Your side, my side, and the truth.” It is good not to believe everything read, but to read various sources to get as balanced a view of an event as possible. So, after thinking about the exchange I had with my friend, I re-read reports about the Maitlis and Green interview, and watched various recordings of it. 

My friend hedged on commenting about Greene’s language because, in his cowardice  thinking of not knowing all the facts, it would be unfair to form an opinion! Well, it is a fact that Greene said that space lasers may have caused California forest fires, and she made a veiled reference to the Rothchild family being involved. And it is a fact that Greene obviously thought she was allowed to say such words to Maitlis. How wrong she was.

But what bothers me most is how my friend condoned Greene’s vileness because, in his mind, of not knowing all the facts. But like too many voters, my friend hid behind the lame excuse of “fake news” in order to not criticize the nasty words made by a politician he supports. That type of thinking is nothing but condoning wrong words or acts or both. There are no facts which excuse or justify such language and behavior.

The one sad fact that I come away with is that my friend refuses to be a responsible citizen by holding Representative Greene and anyone else who is vulgar in words or actions. To say that all facts need to be known before forming an opinion is wise, but in this situation all facts are known, and Greene and my friend are poor examples of good, decent people.

Leave a comment